****Review!!! (Guest Reviewer Crystal)**** One With You by Sylvia Day

one with you

Blurb

Gideon Cross. Falling in love with him was the easiest thing I’ve ever done. It happened instantly. Completely. Irrevocably.

Marrying him was a dream come true. Staying married to him is the fight of my life. Love transforms. Ours is both a refuge from the storm and the most violent of tempests. Two damaged souls entwined as one.

We have bared our deepest, ugliest secrets to one another. Gideon is the mirror that reflects all my flaws … and all the beauty I couldn’t see. He has given me everything. Now, I must prove I can be the rock, the shelter for him that he is for me. Together, we could stand against those who work so viciously to come between us.

But our greatest battle may lie within the very vows that give us strength. Committing to love was only the beginning. Fighting for it will either set us free … or break us apart.

Heartbreakingly and seductively poignant, One with You is the breathlessly awaited finale to the Crossfire® saga, the searing love story that has captivated millions of readers worldwide.

Buy Links

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Kobo

iBooks

 

Crystal’s Review

★★★☆☆

I feel like giving the final chapter of the Crossfire series a 3-star review is criminal. But, when I flipped to the final page and took in the final words, it’s the best I can do. And here’s why. If you’re like me, you’ve been on this journey with Gideon and Eva for some time now. Since May 2012 to be exact. The first three books were phenomenal. The fourth book left me scratching my head in confusion. But, like most everyone, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on the 5th and final book. One With You was so highly anticipated. I was excited to finally get all of my questions from the previous four books answered and see everything wrap up in a neat and tidy bow. Unfortunately, I did not get that. I won’t be giving a synopsis of the book. The blurb will take care of that for you. What I will give you is my honest feedback.

There were some aspects of One With You that I enjoyed. Sylvia Day’s writing is excellent. Her story lines, her characters, her descriptions and her execution are all on point. Watching Gideon and Eva’s love story continue to grow and their faith and trust in each other get stronger was a treat. Simply put, I love the two of them together. However, what I found lacking was that everything was left unresolved. The biggest frustration for me was that there was really no resolution for Carey. We didn’t see him become a father (if the baby was in fact….his). We didn’t see him resolve anything with Trey. Like every other fan of this series, Carey was a major player along side Gideon and Eva, so when his story left much to the imagination, to say I was frustrated is an understatement. Then, there is the unfinished business of the book that Corinne was writing, the drama with the Lucases, Gideon’s mother, Christopher, the list goes on and on! And I won’t give away the spoiler of the other MAJOR event that happened that totally came out of left field and left me saying “what in the hell was that for!?”.

Unfortunately for me, there was too much that had me questioning the entire book. It makes me so sad to realize that it’s all over and that I will never get the answers to my many questions. I think that what once was an incredible series became something that was so forced that there was no story line left. I am giving it a 3-star review simply because, at the end of it all, I love their love story as a whole. I loved these two characters and their hot and heavy romance. Beyond that, it fell flat for me. To each their own though. While I can’t say that I fully enjoyed this story, it’s very possible that you will!

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

